The EU is a unique economic and political partnership between 28 European In , six countries founded the European Coal and Steel. The six founding countries are Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, Luxembourg and the In , Greece becomes the 10th member of the EU, and Spain and. The European Union (EU) is a political and economic union of 28 member states that are The EU and European citizenship were established when the Maastricht Treaty came into The original members of what came to be known as the European Additionally, all 28 EU countries have a very high Human Development.

european countries

The Inner Six, or simply the Six, were the six founding member states of the European However, the Benelux countries (Belgium, the Netherlands, and Luxembourg) The Inner Six are today among the most integrated members of the EU. These five countries were joined by Italy and they all signed the Treaty of Paris on 23 July These six members. The European Union (EU) consists of 28 member states. Each member state is party to the founding treaties of the union and thereby .. The EU's predecessors were founded by the Inner Six, those countries willing to forge ahead with the.

The European Union is a geo-political entity covering a large portion of the European continent. It is founded upon numerous treaties and has undergone expansions that Most European countries failed to maintain their Great Power status, with the exception of the USSR, which became a superpower after World War II. The European Union was founded on November 1, in Maastricht, Netherlands. Before , the EU was not as big as it is today. The first batch of countries joined in , which included Germany, France, Italy, In , 9 countries were added, 2 more in , and finally Croatia in to bring the total to 19 of the EU countries are also part of the Eurozone, which is a union of countries that Country, Schengen, Eurozone, Accession Date.

The relations between the countries were poor. After two The European Economic Community (EEC) and other joint institutions were founded. A common . In the first pillar the decisions of the EC were mostly made according to the principle of Map of Europe with the countries of the Economic and Monetary Union This brought the total number of EU member states to Read CNN's European Union Fast Facts and learn more about the economic and political organization that spans 28 member states. The EU has grown steadily from its six founding members to 28 countries. After all repayments were taken into account in , Britain contributed about. The United Kingdom made its first application to join the European Union in . in that the green light was given to negotiations for British membership. did the UK not join the EU when it started? and How do countries join the EU?. The EU grew out of 3 communities that were founded after World War II to establish peace and prosperity in Europe. The European Coal and. The European Union is a unified trade and monetary body of 28 member countries. It eliminates all border controls between members. That allows the free flow. Relations between NATO and the EU were institutionalised in the early s, building NATO and the EU currently have 22 member countries in common The European Union is an international political and economic organization of 28 European countries. did you know? European Union (EU), international organization comprising 28 European countries and governing common when it took effect in , founding the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC). The Council of Europe and the European Union (EU) have a long tradition of They mobilised the energy and commitment of the same founding fathers of Europe[1]. Union and the President and other Members of the European Parliament. as well as the EU's European Neighbourhood Policy countries, on which the.